top of page
  • Writer's pictureKigu Wolf

The Next Chapter awaits us. | Cyanide Heights 1-Year Anniversary Teaser Notice

Updated: Jun 6, 2021


Probably the first and only time I use this lol -w-


...Anyhow. I welcome thee. This is the Director Sephirah (Regents no longer exist just saying, we changed the owner title).


So...Cyanide Heights is actually going to turn 1 year old now, is it? To be brutally honest with y'all it is a very bumpy road from start and end of the server's first 12 months of operation.


What am I doing here, exactly? Well, I am here to take you on a trip down memory lane, at the deepest part of the archives within Qebehsenuef, Amenemhat. No, we are not going back to the preservation chambers...just the old records. The very old ones. Let's get right to it, shall we? Sit back and relax, this is a very long trip down the rabbit hole.

 

Damn, this is very old. Does anyone even remember this?


I bet only a selected few do recognize this very logo. The original hallmark of Cyanide Heights until this very day. perhaps, maybe those who were there on that exact day?


This is the very first logo of the discord server. Pretty short, right? It once contains those bright colors that somewhat symbolize the dawn of the server, with only me and the other founder (who is at the time, an Ampwave). During those young days, there were around...10? 20? I seem to have forgotten...maybe I should actually write things down next time. Regardless, it was known by the first members as our server's first logo. It has been the logo until around September of 2020 when the server encountered its very first dilemma.


During that time I suppose, it was rather difficult to keep up with things and sometimes forced me to shut down once in a while. The situation ended in October 2020, where it was all negotiated peacefully and everything simmered down. The Heights Tribunal Council was made long before the issue, so...things kinda went heated between all of us (and that includes some walking out).


After Negotiations, we have decided to create a new logo which represents the remaining members of the council at the time.


Oh hey, it's the logo that stayed for half the entire year!


I bet many of you would already identify this immediately. That's correct, this is the Second Logo of Cyanide Heights. From the colors of dawn to a blue and purple dusk kind of theme. Yes, my face and the other founder's face are still there, now with the other two remaining members of the council at the time. All present members of Cyanide Heights, as well as our partners, are pretty much aware that this is our logo. It had been our icon from November until February, with its animated version up to June.


hmm, I cannot seem to find the other one but have the draft instead (the full)


That was the logo animated until June when our nitro went out (oh shucks, but beget not fear it doesn't matter now does it?). I will be honest: Animating the logo is a tough move. Plus, it had to be compressed into less than 1Mb (why must discord torment us owners TwT)


During this time, May 2021, somehow everyone disappeared all of a sudden. Out of everyone in the icon, there's just me. That one blue wolf on the top right part of the icon. The others have retired or have disappeared from all of us, which I suppose at first glance I thought I did something bad, which kinda gave me a huge downtime.


Now...June 2021. A lone blue wolf stood out, looking into the uncertainty that lies before him. Not really sure what he is supposed to do, and at the same time concerned about the future that will be granted.


I suppose I learned...people can just come and go, sometimes painfully. I guess I may never get to see some again, and as the time moves slowly to the end of the 12th month, things just had to change. Now that I am alone up with the new members of the Council, I have decided to center on myself and put up a new icon. Designing the new icon at first thought is quite difficult, as I think it SHOULD align with our theme and lore. I began making a concept and drew it, albeit it is quite dark out here (early morning hours). I...ended up with this.


Wait, the logo now changed!? why am I not aware??


The new logo has been implemented exactly on June 5, 2021. It now shows the slight part of dawn, found at the first logo, and dusk found at the second one. Only I now remained in the icon, with outfits and gears that kinda is lore-wise. I suppose me closing my eyes probably would be me in an endless dream, something I might never wake up from (but definitely will! I can't just sleep forever!). IDK why I am writing this past midnight of June 6 but to hell with it, not the time to overthink.


That's not the only thing that has changed, of course. In line with the anniversary, I should probably show more. Let's head to the...server lore section.

 

The majority of the members of Cyanide Heights clearly knew the first version: About every world having a second life, the afterlife has collapsed, yadda yadda... Kinda seems to be a never-ending story. The war of Astatos, the Nexus core, the hidden library, the Spire, the soul cities, et. al.


During May 23, I think... it is too much to bear, specifically there is too much information to take in and I think it needs a fresh new rewrite. Now it has a rewrite, I recall my former ideas. The ideas of inspiration I find from my favorite games like Cytus II, and much more. And that, is how I came up with a quick framework. Now there are 5 districts instead of 10 cities, and the government in the lore is much more spread out. Much easier to comprehend than last time where it is cut onto chapters, now it shows the framework of the cities, its government, and the factors that affect the place.


This is by far the shortest section lmao, I suppose I had nothing much to say about it. Oh well, let us move to the third and last one: The in-server banners.

 

Okay. This one is technically an enigma for me, sometimes a portion of me hated it but the majority says "no it's fine"


oh god it's that one font that greeted us when we first entered!


Many recognize this as the first and default font of CH during most of the time. When people first view the rules section of the server, they are greeted with such a text. Same with this one below:


yeah that is definitely the one that spooked some I suppose :/


As you can tell, it does suit a Halloween themed server, no? Pretty sure it does. The creepy curves, the way the font is made, as well as the colors, it does suit such a theme.


The partnerships category had a font like...this:


ooh, fancy. It does feel like it came from League of Legends, or it's just me -w-


the theme for the dusk version kinda is slightly felt on this one. the 'ship' in the name would originally be purple but it would give a different yet unintended meaning as it blends in with the background.


Upon the introduction of the Boost Tier System last year, it was I who made those simple banners with the official accent color: Mauve.


clearly I seem to have a rather fun time with glow brushes -w-


I have hosted a poll for the font. It was between...Dubai, Bahnschrift, Agency FB, Electrolize, and Ebrima. Majority voted Electrolize, and thus I kept the one I mostly used. Mauve has been our accent since and I suppose I continue to use it till today. With these slightly outdated banners, I believe I must give them a new look. Here are some:


Bigger and better!


That's now the new rules banner. Pretty neat, huh? As you can tell, I did keep the Mauve and Electrolize accent of the banner, and added a few new stuff to it. Icons if you will.


oh hey, it's librarian kigu!


I wanted to be resourceful at some point, and since my OCs are still with me I could probably put them in too! I suppose it shall liven up things quite a bit.

 

And with that, I shall end our trip here for now. Twitter banners and Server Ad banners? I've yet to actually make updated themes (with...the new designs too!)


Time is ticking. By the time I actually have finished this, we have only... 78 days left before we can celebrate one whole year of being resilient and strong through these challenging months. Actually, just mark your calendars to August 24: The exact day that the server is born. I am preparing a month full of activities, so I hope you will stay tuned for it. And who knows, maybe someday I should probably write about the updated themes that I didn't add here too.


Till then, I bid thee adieu.


Sincerely,

Wulfus Kiguroki

--------------------------

Director Sephirah, Cyanide Heights

Surviving Founder, Cyanide Heights

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page